Kiddie Sized Trailer Review – Snowpiercer

Woah.  OK.  I felt like I just watched the modern version of 1984.  That was the feel of the trailer look for me.  Funny enough, John Hurt is in both of these movies. Things that make you go hmmmm.  This also has a 12 Monkeys feel and look too.  I am intrigued by this story though it feels very basic.  Class warfare issues with the apocalypse as the background.  The train concept with its claustrophic environment could be great if used properly.  I do like Chris Evans, but Hollywood had to go again on the white male lead thing.  Also, what’s up with the string of white women playing the ultimate bad guys in the Sci-fi/post-apocalypse genre?  It’s fine, but I feel as if every Hollywood studio executive has modified is beating this formula into the ground.  Honestly, again, I like Chris Evans as an actor, but I am not running to the theater for him in this film.  So many more choices that could have added more range and grit to this lead role especially given the subject material.  Visually, the film looks interesting and I am curious as to how you take over a train that would appear to have a long standing locked down system.  Typically, those details are terribly executed, and the film usually rushes the viewer to the end result with how they got there in complete dissaray and absurdness.  Some interesting questions that the trailer hints at as well.  Will the people in the back of the train be better people once they are in the front? Or do all humans behave the same once they have a taste at the front?

Verdict: Having a tea party now. Watch later if it’s on cable.

 



Leave a comment